Monday 14. June 2021

2021 FCEI International Webinar Series

 

2021 FCEI International Webinar Series

 

FCEI Principles in Perspective—Exploring the Issues from Multiple Angles is the FCEI virtual-learning series. Running between February to October 2021, these live, sign-language interpreted, interactive webinars will be free to participants. Each webinar will address a topic from the point-of-view of professionals, Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DHH) adults, and parents in a facilitated discussion. Q&A opportunities will be an important interactive feature of each webinar, so register early to reserve your spot!

 

These webinars are free to attend, and there is an option to make a donation towards the access costs. The webinars will be recorded and available on the FCEI website after each event.

 

Upcoming Sessions:

 

25 March 2021              Ensuring Cultural Competence within FCEI Programs

  • Sydney 10pm
  • London 11am
  • Vienna 12pm
  • Johannesburg 1pm
  • New York 7am
  • Denver 5am

What do we mean by cultural competence? The myriad of ways this concept impacts family-centred early intervention include everything from geographic and socio-economic considerations to Deaf Cultural values. In this session, we will explore the FCEI principles that affirm the importance of shared decision making within a team of professionals and parents where all members are equal. What are there barriers to this? Do we bring unintentional, unconscious bias and beliefs to our early intervention interactions? What is the influence of power and privilege in an early intervention session?

 

Join this webinar featuring different perspectives on identifying barriers and roadblocks, and suggesting new ways to consider what we really mean by being culturally competent.

 

This event will be provided in spoken English, American Sign Language, International Sign and English live captions.

 

Register at this link.

http://www.fcei.at/